No Joy Announces New Album, Shares Video for New Song: Watch


No Joy, the musical moniker of Montreal-based songwriter Jasamine White-Gluz, has a new album on the way. Motherhood is out August 21 via Joyful Noise/Hand Drawn Dracula, marking No Joy’s first studio LP in five years. She’s also shared lead single “Birthmark,” along with a music video directed by Jordan “Dr Cool” Minkoff. Watch that below, and scroll down for the album art and tracklist.

“We made this video while in quarantine,” No Joy wrote in a press release. She added:

I filmed myself at home and asked my very talented friend Jordan to
help build a world around the footage. Diavion [Nicolas] had been
dancing to No Joy on his Instagram, and I was a huge fan so reached
out and asked him to choreograph a routine for this song. While in the
studio, I wanted to keep the energy fun and throw any ideas at the
wall. We ended up watching the video for “Puff Puff
” by Hannah’s Field, pulled out
some bongos, a broken clarinet, drank 12 bottles of sake, and did
group chants.

No Joy released her last full-length solo album More Faithful in 2015. The following year she shared her Drool Sucker EP, followed by a 2018 split EP with Sonic Boom.


01 Birthmark
02 Dream Rats [ft. Alissa White-Gluz]
03 Nothing Will Hurt
04 Four
05 Ageless
06 Why Mothers Die
07 Happy Bleeding
08 Signal Lights
09 Fish
10 Primal Curse
11 Kidder

Products You May Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *